On Air

Home

WATCH: Controversial KO

18 June 2017 National Sport


Last Updated: 18/06/17 7:55am

Guillermo Rigondeaux stopped Moises Flores in the first round but was the KO punch after the bell?

Guillermo Rigondeaux appeared to throw a fight-ending punch after the bell as he retained his WBA belt with a controversial knockout of Moises Flores.

Television replays showed that Rigondeaux landed a left hand after the bell had sounded in the opening round and the Cuban also seemed to throw three punches while holding Flores’ head.

Flores stayed down for several minutes and had to be helped back to his corner where he sat during a lengthy review that eventually resulted in Rigondeaux being crowned the winner.

Flores topples into the arms of referee Vic Drakulich at the end of the first round

Flores topples into the arms of referee Vic Drakulich at the end of the first round

But after the fight, Nevada Athletic Commission executive director Bob Bennett told broadcaster HBO that they might have to review the decision.

“We will take a look at it. If the punch landed after the bell it is a disqualification,” said Bennett. “We want the right fighter to win. Anything is possible. We could take a look at it and do the right thing.”

Rigondeaux improved to 18-0 with 12 knockouts, while Flores, of Mexico, dropped to 25-1, with 17 KOs.


Share
error: Content is protected !!